Profile

Studio NAND

We visualise, design, and consult at the intersection of research, data, and technology

The studio combines technology and research to design data visualizations, knowledge exploration tools, and novel physical interfaces that interact with the digital world. We invent and develop interactions that visually distill relevant information from vast data sets and unravel complex processes into engaging interactive expositions and prototypes.

Our clients include major cultural institutions, research departments, and leading technology firms seeking to design and conceptualize possible scenarios derived from research technologies. The studio initiates the dialogue on potential use cases and models, and then critically examines the crucial, conceivable, and hypothetical events they may produce. We design prototypes to explore actual, desirable, or speculative scenarios, and then research and invent their interaction methods, to arrive at a full implementation of a final product.

Studio NAND has a reputation as one of the industry’s most progressive collectives

Computer Arts Magazine

In addition to our studio work we offer workshops at educational and academic institutions. The workshops range from teaching practical design skills to conducting state-of-the-art research. Our topics include data visualization, designing with technology, and using design as a method to prototype future scenarios. We aim to establish design as a tool for reflective, imaginative, and visionary thought derived from current and future technologies.

A natural curiosity and sense of play imbues the work at Studio NAND in Berlin, who specialise in translating cutting edge technology into beautifully designed products, objects and events

Jonathan Openshaw, The Lip

English subtitle available. Activate with CC button.
To learn more about the exhibition, please visit: shutterstock.com/analogmenschdigital
Shutterstock visited our Studio and did a short portrait of Jonas, Markus and Stephan explaining some of our projects. To enable subtitles while playing the video, click the CC button in the bottom right-hand corner of the video player.

Team
Studio NAND

A close collaboration with experts from various discipines and research institutes allows us to design and invent in an agile networked structure

Co-founder
Steffen Fiedler steffen@nand.io
Co-founder
Jonas Loh jonas@nand.io
Co-founder
Stephan Thiel stephan@nand.io


Strategist
Lena Kuhlmann lena@nand.io
Design Technologist
Markus Kerschkewicz markus@nand.io
Software Engineer
Camila San Martin Ayres camila@nand.io


UX and Data Visualization Designer
Heike Otten heike@nand.io
Graphics and UI Designer
Anna König anna@nand.io
Design Technologist
Lennart Hildebrandt lennart@nand.io


UX and Data Visualization Intern
Jennifer Piperek jennifer@nand.io